Political Structure

Angola is governed by a President who is assisted by a Vice President and a team of Ministers and Vice Ministers, all appointed by the President. Political power rests mainly with the Presidency. The Council of Ministers, composed of all government ministers and vice ministers, meets regularly to debate and approve policy issues. The central government in Luanda administers the country through 18 provinces through Governors appointed by the President. The ruling MPLA controlled 59% of the seats in the 220 member National Assembly elected in 1992. 16 years after the last elections in 1992, the country voted for the second time to elect a new National Assembly on September 5, 2008. In this election, MPLA won 81.76% of the total valid votes polled and the main opposition party UNITA won only 10.36%. The Social Renovation Party won 3.14% and the rest of the political parties won 1% or less each. The voting was declared generally credible and transparent by international observers giving the government the democratic mandate that it had craved for long. With a representation of close to 82% in the 220-seat National Assembly, MPLA now has 2/3rd majority of the House.

On January 21, 2010 the National Assembly approved the new Constitution and the President promulgated the new Constitution on January 29, 2010. According to new Constitution the majority party in the National Assembly will elect the President and the Vice President. The Presidential elections are expected to be held in 2012, when the elections to the National Assembly become due.