Greetings from Ambassador

(on inauguration of the website in March 2010)

Please allow me to welcome you to the website of the Embassy of India, Luanda. We hope that this website will serve as useful first point of contact on India for the citizens of Angola.

India and Angola share a common colonial past and had trade relations for a long time.  After Angola became independent in 1976, late Prime Minister of India Shri Rajiv Gandhi visited Angola in 1986. It was followed by the visit of Engineer Jose Eduardo Dos Santos, Hon’ble President of Angola to India in 1987.  After a gap of twenty two years, Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh and President Jose Eduardo Dos Santos met on July 10, 2009 during the G8 Summit in L’Aquila, Italy indicating the importance they attach to bilateral relations and to the vast potential for mutually beneficial cooperation between our countries.

In recent years, the relationship has progressed fast.  Indian companies have invested in Angola in the area of steel, paper, plastics, pharmaceuticals, drinking water etc.  In the last three years, our trade has quadrupled to reach close to US$2 billion, interactions between our governments and the private sectors have increased.  A thousand specially designed Ashok Leyland buses now transport passengers and goods in the provinces of Angola, a railway system set up with Indian credit line is running in the province of Huila, Indian tractors are a popular brand in the country and a variety of Indian goods are now exported to Angola.  Angola exports crude oil to India and imports petroleum products from India when needed.

In the coming years, India hopes to work with Angola in its fight against poverty and unemployment and in its efforts to achieve permanent peace and progress for its people.

A.R. Ghanashyam
March 2010                                                                                                                    


  • Mr  Sushil Dubey                      10 Nov 1986  ~   23 May 1988
  • Mr Vaman Sardesai                 06 Jul    1988  ~   13 Aug 1991
  • Mr B.R. Ghulliani                        13 Sep   1991 ~   29 Mar 1994
  • Mr S.K. Mandal                           30 Nov  1995 ~   26 Aug 1997
  • Mr U.C. Baro                                22 Oct   1997 ~    30 Nov 2000
  • Mr R.M. Aggarwal                      07 Mar  2002 ~   07 Jul   2005
  • Mr Mohammed Afzal                 29 Jul    2005 ~    27 Jul   2007
  • Mr A.R. Ghanashyam                 06 Oct  2007 ~     16 Sep  2010
  • Mr Abhijit Chakraborty, Charge d’ Affaires a.i.  16 Sept 2010 ~